How to Renew a Michigan Real Estate License Online in 2021
Don’t let your Michigan real estate license expire! In this article, you will learn the renewal requirements for real estate agents and brokers in Michigan, including continuing education requirements, and everything else you need to keep your real estate license active in 2021.
2021 Michigan Continuing Education Requirements
The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, LARA, mandates that within each three-year renewal cycle, Salespersons or Broker licensees must complete a minimum of 18 hours of CE courses to keep their licenses active.
Breakdown of the 18 continuing ed credit hour requirements.
- The 18 credit hours must be in subjects that are relevant to the management, operation, and practice of real estate or any other subject that contributes to the professional competence of a licensee.
- Every year, at least 2 of the 18 CE credit hours must be completed in courses that involve law, rules, and court cases regarding real estate.
Licensees may set up an account with Michigan’s CE hub for real estate professionals, CE Marketplace, to find accredited CE courses, renewal requirements, and keep track of their CE records.
Though LARA stopped tracking continuing ed hours in 2014, they still audit licenses. They require that you always have documentation showing that you have completed the required amount of continuing education for the last four years, so be sure to keep a copy of your certificates.
Not to worry, if you completed your courses with keep Me Certified, you can login 24/7 to download fresh copies of the certificates you earned.
Also, if you are unsure of the courses you need to take or you don’t know where to find accredited courses, visit our fully approved online real estate school, keepmecertified.com, to enroll in continuing ed courses that satisfy the mandatory and elective credit requirements you need to renew your real estate license.
Important dates to note
October 31, 2021: Date for expiration of unrenewed Michigan real estate licenses
November 1, 2021 – December 31, 2021: The window for late renewal of licenses is open but at a cost of $20.00.
Upon closure of this window, licenses that are still unrenewed are rendered invalid.
November 1, 2021 – October 31, 2022 Next license circle year
Since licensees are required to complete 2 hours of mandatory CE courses each year, it is important to note that it is not within the regular calendar year. Licensees fiscal year run from the November 1 through October 31.
The renewal of Michigan real estate licenses costs $78.00 and must be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card.
Special CE requirements
If you renewed your license or were relicensed between November 1, 2019, and October 31, 2020, then you need only 12 CE credit hours:
- 4 hours (2 hours yearly) in CE courses that involve law, rules and court, and cases regarding real estate.
- 8 hours in other CE courses.
If you renewed your license or were relicensed between November 1, 2020, and July 3, 2021, then you need only 6 CE credit hours:
- 2 hours in CE courses that involve law, rules and court, and cases regarding real estate.
- 4 hours in other CE courses.
Here is a document by LARA outlining all of the CE requirements based on the date you were licensed.
Continuing education exemptions
LARA allows for a total or partial CE exemption in a case of:
- Licensee’s disability
- Absence from the continental United States
- Circumstances beyond the control of the licensee that the board considers sufficient cause to waive the requirement.
- Military service.
Visit the page of the Department of Licensing and Regulatory affairs to see details of the CE exemptions above.
Continuing education credits do not roll over to the following licensing term. Also, you cannot receive credit for taking the same course more than once in the same renewal cycle.
Keep Me Certified has a full course catalog available to satisfy your continuing education requirements.
Important contact details
Name: CE Marketplace
Phone: (844) 642-6633.
Name: Michigan State Board of Real Estate Brokers & Salesperson
Lastly, there are no final exam requirements, but only course reviews. At Keep Me Certified, each student has access to their course(s) for twelve months from the date they purchased.
Do you still have questions?
Reach out, and we would be happy to assist. To learn more or enroll in an online course, visit us at keepmecertified.com