The current June 30, 2022 renewal deadline has new and updated renewal requirements. The South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation does an excellent job at communicating to licensees about the South Carolina real estate license renewal process. Included below is one of the recent letters sent out to all licensees. Here is another article we wrote outlining the South Carolina real estate license renewal requirements for 2022.
*** Due to a law change, fingerprint-based SLED and FBI background checks are now required in order to renew as ACTIVE for Salespersons, Brokers, Brokers-in-Charge, Property Managers, and Property Managers-in-Charge every third renewal cycle beginning this year. If you have an inactive license, you may renew as inactive without obtaining a criminal records check. However, if you decide to reactivate your license, you will be required to obtain a fingerprint-based criminal records check. ***
Information to renew your license online is provided below. Keep this information for your records. This information will give you access to online services provided by LLR. This form is not a renewal application; it is a courtesy notice to assist you in renewing your license online. Do not return this form with a check.
User ID: XXXXXX
License Type: XXXXXX
License Number: XXXXXXX
Recover/Reset My Password: Https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/SSO/Login/RecoverPass/
Renewal Website: https://www.llr.sc.gov/re/renewals.aspx
Other Online Services: https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/SSO/
(SCREC) LLR Website: http://llr.sc.gov/re
Online renewal is available twenty-four (24) hours a day. Your UserID is listed above. If you have not accessed your e-service account in a while, you may need to reset/recover your password. Go to the ?Recover/Reset My Password? web link at https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/SSO/Login/RecoverPass/, and a link to reset your password will be emailed to you. You must have a current email address on file with the Commission to be able to reset your password. If you do not have a current email address on file with the Commission, please email the Commission at Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov with your name, license number, last 5 digits of SSN, and current email address before attempting to renew your license. A current email address must now be kept on file with the Commission at all times.
The online renewal application process features a proxy payment link. This will enable the licensee to email a link to a third party (such as their employer) for payment. For privacy and security purposes, the third party will only have access to information such as name, license type and number, and payment amount. The licensee is responsible for following up with the proxy to ensure payment is made timely for their renewal.
RENEWAL FEE SCHEDULE
- Inactive Broker or Property Manager License (2-years) – $55
- Inactive Salesperson License (2-years) – $45
- Inactive Timeshare Salesperson Registration (1 year) – $50
- After June 30, 2022 the License is expired and must be renewed no later than December 31, 2022, or it is canceled.
Late Renewal Fees:
- July 1-31, 2022 – Inactive Renewal Fee + $15 Late Fee
- August 1-31, 2022 – Inactive Renewal Fee + $30 Late Fee
- September 1-30, 2022 – Inactive Renewal Fee + $45 Late Fee
- October 1-31, 2022 – Inactive Renewal Fee + $60 Late Fee
- November 1-30, 2022 – Inactive Renewal Fee + $75 Late Fee
- December 1-31, 2022 – Inactive Renewal Fee + $90 Late Fee
- After December 31, 2022 – License is canceled
- For the 2022 renewal cycle a calendar of approved continuing education courses may be retrieved at the following website: https://llr.sc.gov/re/recpdf/Doc151.pdf. Licensees need ten (10) hours total continuing education (includes mandatory classes) for active renewal of a broker or salesperson license.
- No continuing education is required of property managers or timeshare salespersons.
- A fingerprint-based background check is required for active renewal (except timeshare salespersons); please see instructions at: https://llr.sc.gov/BDRen/2022RenewalInstructions.pdf
Keep Me Certified is a fully approved South Carolina real estate school offering the 10 credits brokers and salespersons need to satisfy the continuing education requirement and renew their license. If you are a broker-in-charge, there is a separate 4-hour course that you need to complete.
Learn more and start your continuing ed at keepmecertified.com.