Here are Connecticut’s real estate continuing education requirements for 2022.
In this article, you will learn about the Connecticut renewal regulations so you can keep your real estate license active in 2022.
2022 Connecticut Continuing Education Requirements
The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (CT DCP) requires that all licensees complete 12 hours of continuing education courses every even year to keep their licenses active.
Breakdown of the CT 12-hour continuing education requirements for 2022
- Salesperson and Broker licensees must complete two mandatory 3-hour courses which are:
- CT Real Estate Law for Brokers & Salespersons
- Understanding and Preventing Racial Bias in Real Estate
- Six hours of elective real estate continuing ed topics.
Note that all mandatory classes are to be taken in person or via live in-person or virtual (ie Zoom) while elective courses can be taken online (on-demand).
If you are unsure of the courses you need to take or you don’t know where to find accredited courses, you can visit our fully-approved online real estate school, keepmecertified.com.
The state allows licensees to renew their licenses by passing a 40-question Connecticut continuing education examination administered by PSI Exams. It is an online test that costs $65.
Important license renewal dates to note:
April 1, 2020 – March 31, 2022: License renewal period for Connecticut broker licensees
June 1, 2020 – May 31, 2022: License renewal period for Connecticut salesperson licensees
2020-2022 real estate continuing education cycle:
For Brokers: April 1, 2022 – March 31, 2024
For Salespersons: June 1, 2022 – May 31, 2024
CT Continuing education exemptions
The state of Connecticut does not exempt anyone (including referral agents) from the continuing ed requirements. Licensees are only exempt if they passed the CT licensing exam during that CE period.
Reciprocal license renewal requirements
Furthermore, if you have taken CE in your primary state, you can scan and email the information to firstname.lastname@example.org for assessment or fax to 860-706-1317. Each course must be a minimum of 3 hours and must have been taken during that Connecticut CE cycle. All Connecticut real estate licensees are required to complete the CT mandatory topics.
Continuing education certification
All continuing ed courses must be completed with a Connecticut-approved school. You also must retain a copy of your certificates of completion for a minimum of 4 years. At any time, you may be subject to an audit by DCP and your certificates may be requested at that time.
If you completed courses with Keep Me Certified, you can login 24/7 to download fresh copies of the certificates you earned.
Important contact details
Name: Department of Consumer Protection
Address: 450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 801, Hartford, CT 06103
Main Telephone: 860-713-6150
Visit the Connecticut Elicense Portal to renew your license once all of your credits have been completed.
Lastly, continuing education credits do not roll over to the following licensing term. In other words, you cannot carry forward additional credits you earn in one renewal period to the next. Also, you cannot receive credit for taking the same course more than once in the same renewal cycle.
Keep Me Certified has a full catalog of courses available to satisfy your continuing education requirements.
Do you still have questions?
Reach out and we would be happy to assist. To learn more or enroll in an online course, visit us at keepmecertified.com